• Print

Walter Huber Scholarship

The Walter Huber Scholarship is designed to provide financial support for 1st time entrances to either the Solo Nationals, National Runoffs, United States Road Rally Challenge or like events in the other Specialties.

Walt Huber

Walt Huber, we remember...

Year - Member

2018 - Chris Laprus

Chris started autocrossing with NNJR in 2014. He quickly became a regular, and showed a lot of interest in helping the region. In 2016 he became one of our worker chiefs where he's been a huge asset to the club. He's quickly progressed to being one of the fast drivers in the region. He started out driving a CS BRZ, and moved on to a DS WRX, followed by a BS Evo and in 2018 a AS C5 Z06. When he prepared the Evo for STU in 2017 he quickly became a regular fixture near the top of the results, and finished 5th place in the 2017 driver of the year standings. Chris will be attending the Solo Nationals for the first time this year.

2019 - Jeff Yatkso


Jeff YatskoThe Board of Trustees is please to announce that Jeff Yatsko has been named the 2019 recipient of the Walter Huber 'Scholarship Fund', which was designed to provide financial support for 1st time entrances to either the Solo Nationals, National Runoffs, United States Road Rally Challenge or like events in the other Specialties.


Jeff has been an indispensable asset to the NNJR Solo program the last 25 years he has yet to make the trip out to Lincoln.


Jeff is always at our Solo events to give a helping hand to literally anyone with car issues. He has been a NNJR member for 21 years and has always been involved in Solo program, with a few Pine Barrens Express rallies thrown in for good measure!


Jeff has run many different cars throughout his autocross "career", from the ubiquitous Acura Integra and multiple Honda Civics, to an Autodynamics Formula Vee, to a couple of Honda S2000's, and the ever-popular NA Miata.


More recently, Jeff found a unique path by way of a pair of turbocharged Koreans; first with a Kia Forte 5 and now with a Hyundai Elektra GT Sport, the latter of which Jeff will be competing with (in HS) in Lincoln.


We truly wish Jeff all the best in Lincoln and congratulation on the award.

Jeff Yatsko

2020 - Not Awarded
2021 - TBD 


Guidelines for the Annual NNJR-SCCA
Walter Huber Scholarship Award
(Established June 28, 2018)

a) Must be a member of the Region, in good standing for two years or more
b) Must be nominated by the Specialty Chair or BOT Member
c) Must not have attended a SCCA 'Year End' National Level event in the past, (ie "National Solo", "National Runoff", United States Road Rally Challenge" (USRRC) or the like event in the other Specialties).
d) This Scholarship Fund is open to both competitors and volunteer workers
e) The individual must be approved by a majority vote of the Walter Huber Scholarship Committee and confirmed by the Board of Trustees.
f) The individual must be paying their own way and not being sponsored/supported by a third party and for whom it would not otherwise be financially viable an opportunity to attend the event
g) The 'Grant' of $500 will be award to offset event expenses, with valid receipts